E3 2018 Preview: What can we expect this year?

E3 2018 is nearly upon us and I couldn’t be more excited.

It’s that one time of year where we gamers come together and share our collective hype (or disappointment) and get a real look at what lies ahead.

Whether you are tuning in to each conference live or catching up via hot takes on Twitter, there really isn’t a more exciting time on the gaming calendar.

So ahead of this year’s event we wanted to take part in one of the oldest and dearest traditions within gaming’s enthusiast media and run through what we will hopefully be seeing at E3 2018.

And remember there is no cheeky insider knowledge here, so please take the following predictions and expectations with the largest grain of salt…

EA

One thing surely has to be assumed before EA’s showing this year – that there won’t even be a hint of loot boxes mentioned once.

After the Star Wars Battlefront II fiasco in November, EA have a real opportunity this year to represent themselves as being pro-gamer and not the money-grabbing supervillains of the gaming industry.

How do they do that? Simple, they show off games and plenty of them.

EA have a lot of strong titles in their stable to talk about, including sport titles like FIFA and Madden, plus we are guaranteed to have a lengthy multiplayer gameplay segment from Battlefield V.

That all being said, we are all really here to see more of Anthem following a stunning debut last year.

Bioware should have plenty to show off from this title, and I can’t wait to find out more about the gameplay and world it is set in.

We should also expect some new titles to be shown off with Dragon Age 4 rumours gathering pace online, could we finally see more on this? We certainly hope so!

 

EA will kick off their EA Play event with a showcase on Saturday June 9 at 7pm (BST) / 11am (PT) / 2pm (ET)

 

 

Microsoft

If there is one conference I can’t wait to see at E3 this year, it is Microsoft’s. I think we could really be in for something special – and you can read more about my thoughts on this here.

Over the years I think that Microsoft have been getting progressively slicker with their presentation, and really the only thing missing here is some meaty exclusives.

Gears of War 5, Halo 6 and a new Forza title are all expected to make an appearance here, and we may even get a release date for Crackdown 3!

While these heavyweight titles will be welcomed back with open arms, we should be prepared for a strong showing in regard to other titles from Microsoft this year.

There have been rumours swirling about a potential return for Perfect Dark, as well as a new title from Platinum Games following Scalebound’s cancellation.

Maybe we will even get a cheeky glimpse at Fable 4? Why not?

Even if one of these ends up being true it would mark a huge coup for Microsoft’s exclusive line up.

Of course, we can also expect more announcements for Xbox outside of their games line-up.

Expect improvements to the Xbox system and service at large. Game Pass expansion? Streaming? The sky is the limit with Microsoft’s resources.

Either way, there is massive potential for Microsoft to have a really special showing this year at E3.

 

Microsoft’s E3 press conference will take place on Sunday June 10 at 9pm (BST) / 1pm (PT) / 4pm (ET)

 

 

Bethesda

A late showing for us over here in the UK, but Bethesda always make sure there is at least one announcement to make staying up worthwhile!

Following that Walmart leak, we already know that Rage 2 will be making an appearance during this year’s showing, so we can expect to see more gameplay and madness from this Mad Max-inspired sequel.

This week we were also treated to a surprise announcement of Fallout 76, teasing more details to be shown at E3.

According to reports this will not be your usual Fallout title and instead feature online survival RPG elements akin to games like Day Z, so expect much debate around this in the lead up and after.

With two huge titles already announced is this a case of Bethesda dampening expectations or putting us off the scent of other reveals?

DOOM 2 and new content for Prey are both big possibilities here, plus we could finally get a teaser for The Elder Scrolls 6 – please make this happen.

This year could also be the year that Bethesda lift the curtain on the heavily rumoured space RPG ‘Starfield’.

Bethesda. Space. RPG. Sign us up immediately.

 

The Bethesda E3 2018 showcase will take place on Sunday June 10 at 2:30am (BST) / 6:30pm (PT) / 9:30pm (ET).

 

 

Square Enix

Square Enix make their return to the grand stage with what should be a very exciting showcase of upcoming titles.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider will be shown off here with some kind of bombastic gameplay footage showing off Lara Croft’s growing lust for bloodshed.

We will also see more on the much-anticipated Kingdom Hearts 3 and Dragon Quest XI.

But what about a certain Final Fantasy VII remake? Will we even get our first official hint of Final Fantasy XVI being in development?

There is massive potential this year for Square Enix to delight their fans with announcements of this ilk.

Following the release of Infinity War there has never been a better time for Square Enix to finally reveal what their upcoming Avengers title is – all we know is that we can’t wait to find out more.

 

Square Enix will kick off their E3 press conference on Monday June 11 at 6pm (BST) / 10am (PT) / 1PM (ET)

 

 

Ubisoft

After what could arguably be their best year ever, Ubisoft will be returning to E3 with confidence in what they have to show off.

We can expect to see more from Beyond Good and Evil 2 here following its announcement last year, as well as more from the delayed Skull and Bones.

This week Ubisoft confirmed that Assassins Creed: Odyssey is indeed our next adventure in the series and will be set in ancient Greece, so expect to see our first proper glimpse at this title during their conference this year.

A new Splinter Cell title is a sure bet to be confirmed here as well, following Sam Fisher’s guest appearance on Ghost Recon: Wildlands and being name in the now infamous Walmart Canada leak.

We can also expect to see our first look at The Division 2 following its announcement earlier this year, will it feature a Battle Royale mode? Probably, it makes so much sense to have it in this title.

What else can we expect? Well Ubisoft are the kings at ‘one more thing’… Watch_Dogs 3 anyone? Who knows, but we can certainly expect Ubi to drop the mic with a huge announcement to close their showing.

 

Ubisoft’s E3 showcase will take place on Monday June 11 at 9pm (BST) / 1pm (PT) / 4pm (ET)

 

 

Sony

In an unexpected move, Sony decided to announce ahead of E3 that their showcase this year will focus on four of their biggest upcoming titles: Death Stranding, Ghost of Tsushima, Spider-Man and The Last of Us Part II.

With the PS4 continuing to sell well, taking the time to focus on their very strong line-up of titles in their roadmap, as opposed to revealing absolutely everything, makes sense here.

If you are disappointed, don’t be, as we can still expect to see some strong announcements in amongst all this.

Following an alleged leak of Sony’s running order for the conference we could be seeing announcements for Devil May Cry 5, Vanquish 2 and a remake of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater.

It also detailed a gameplay reveal for Resident Evil 2 remake as well as more on Final Fantasy VII’s remake.

Now while all of this would be incredible, again you shouldn’t take these leaks as confirmation of anything.

If we could only see one new announcement from Sony at E3, it would be to share more detail on FromSoftware’s mysterious new title shown at PSX last year.

Is it Bloodborne 2? Tenchu? Or something else entirely? Whatever it is we need to know yesterday.

There is massive potential here to finally see gameplay from Death Stranding, The Last of Us Part II as well as Ghost of Tsushima, all of which can’t be understated – these are mammoth titles for Sony and should drum up some hype ahead of release.

Sony are flying just now, and even if they did show off just four titles… it would still be some showing.

 

Sony’s E3 showcase will take place on Monday June 11 at 2am (BST) / 6pm (PT) / 9pm (ET)

 

 

Nintendo

We can expect yet another wacky and wild video presentation from Nintendo this year at E3 (please bring back muppet-style Regi and Miyamoto).

Following an incredible debut year for the Switch, Nintendo have a solid slate of beloved first-party titles and some third-party gems to look forward to.

Super Smash Bros will be a highlight in their presentation this year, which means we should finally see some gameplay from the highly-anticipated title.

We should also see more from Let’s Go Pikachu/Eevee following the Pokémon announcements made earlier this week.

Speaking of anticipation, we should finally get our first proper glimpse at Metroid Prime 4 with a potential release window.

As always there are no shortage rumours ahead of Nintendo’s conference, with suggestions that Mother 3 and Earthbound 2 could make an appearance. There’s also a potential reveal of Star Fox: Grand Prix if the rumours are true.

Plus, we could finally have some confirmation of an N64 or Game Boy Classic Mini announced during their presentation.

You just never know with Nintendo when it comes to surprise reveals, all we know is that it you don’t want to miss their presentation this year!

 

Nintendo’s E3 video presentation will be shown on Tuesday June 12 at 5pm (BST) / 9am (PT) / 12pm (ET)

 

What are you most looking forward to seeing at E3 2018? Let us know in the comments below or on our Facebook and Twitter pages!

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.